[Book Review]– The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Image result for the girl from everywhereSynopsis:

Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

What I liked:

  • There is a biracial rep with the main character being Chinese and White and also Persian rep!
  • Nix was such a great main character and I loved being in her head and watching her navigate through obstacles.
  • I loved the whole idea of time traveling pirates and I think the idea was fleshed out and explained very well. I still had a few questions, but I hope they’re answered in the second book.
  • I loved how, because of the time traveling, the plot gets so tangled up. It really made things interesting.
  • The mythology was well researched and it really showed throughout the whole book.
  • I love how complicated Nix’s relationship was with her dad. It felt so realistic and showed how sometimes just loving someone isn’t always enough.
  • Kashmir is one of my favorite characters. A sweet talking thief who is so in love with Nix, it made me swoon!
  • I loved how their relationship/friendship was so healthy and how much they trusted each other. I also loved how it wasn’t the focus of the plot.
  • There was a love triangle, which usually annoys me, but this one isn’t obnoxious which I was so grateful for.

What I disliked:

  • The plot was paced kind of slowly, and it wasn’t as action packed as I hoped it would be. It definitely felt like a first book in a duology because it was focused more on setting up for the next book.
  • As much as I loved how tangled up the plot gets, it also got confusing at some points and I found myself having to re-read passages multiple times before figuring out what was going on.

Rating: ★★★★☆

Overall, this book had such an interesting concept that was executed really well, and I can’t wait to read the sequel!

Would I recommend? Definitely!

Leave a Reply

