[Book Tag]– Studio Ghibli Book Tag!

This tag was originally created by Spiccy Cullen but then was translated and tinkered with by sydneysshelves. I wasn’t tagged to do this, but I love Studio Ghibli and was so excited to see a tag that combined it with books, I knew that I had to do it.

six of crows1. Castle in the Sky: A book that speaks of an exciting and wonderful journey.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. HEAR ME OUT! I know they’re criminals and I know they’re going somewhere to steal something, but man was I excited to watch how them do the impossible. As intense as that book is, I loved every second of their journey and I especially loved all of Kaz’s scheming. This tag

2. Grave of Fireflies: A book that left you shaken and emotional

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. Pretty sure my heart broke on the very first page and it only went downhill from there. The grief over heartbreak and the loss of a loved on was so real and raw in this book. I actually cried a few different times while reading it. It was so good though!

3. Kiki’s Delivery Service: A book with a particularly courageous female leadTHUG

Starr from The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. She see’s a childhood friend get unjustly murdered by a cop and must decide whether or not she should speak up about it. Despite all the tension in her neighborhood and all her fears, Starr manages to be brave and make some difficult decisions. She also shows that you can be brave even if you don’t think you are.

4. Spirited Away: A book set in a space time parallel to ours

The only thing I can think of that fits here is A Thousand Pieces Of You by Claudia Gray. It’s about a girl whose parents create a device called the Firebird which allows the wearer to travel to parallel dimensions and take over their parallel selves. Her dad is murdered and she must chase his murderer through a bunch of parallel universes to stop him. It was definitely an interesting concept and fun to see all the ways the universes were similar and different to the main character’s universe!

Image result for graceling book cover5. Howl’s Moving Castle: A book full of magic

I would say the whole Graceling trilogy by Kristin Cashore, although the abilities that some people have are not considered magic. I don’t really read much fantasy though, so I have to go with what I can work with. I loved the concept of some people having abilities and seeing how those people use them for good or selfish reasons.

6. Tales from Earthsea: A book that had high expectations and let you down.

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Colhurst. The cover was so pretty and I was so excited to read a fantasy book with a f/f romance. While the romance was amazing and developed super well, the other characters and the plot fell flat for me. I was so disappointed by this because I was ready to be in love with it.

7. Ponyo: A book from your childhood that you cannot NOT rereadImage result for a wrinkle in time

I don’t ever reread the books for my childhood only because I don’t think I could appreciate them the same way that I did back then. I have been debating about whether or not I should reread A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle though because it was made into a movie!

8. From Up On Poppy Hill: A book full of mystery and love

Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig! It’s about a boy whose girlfriend goes missing and he decides that he’s going to try to find out what happens. He also has a secret; he’s actually gay. This book was so amazing and written so well and I’m honestly surprised that I haven’t seen anyone talking about it.

Image result for something in between9. The Wind Rises: A book with a protagonist with a drawer full of dreams

Jasmine de los Santos from Something In Between by Melissa de la Cruz. Jasmine is a character who is determined and goes out and gets what she wants. She wants to get good grades, she wants to go to a good college, and she wants to have a career that will help people. I loved seeing a character who had so many dreams and wasn’t afraid to try and accomplish them. It felt very refreshing!

10. When Marnie Was There: a book that talks about a special friendship

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore. The friendship between Sam and Miel is so pure and amazing. They care about each other so much, and they are willing to do whatever it takes to protect each other. One of the best relationships I’ve ever read, to be honest!

11. My Neighbor Totoro: A good “haunted house” storyImage result for the shining book cover

I don’t really read many books that I think pertain to this so I’m going to have to go with The Shining by Stephen King. There are definitely some evil spirits in it, and it was so intense to watch those spirits slowly take over Jack’s mind and twist it around.

12. Whispers of the Heart: A geeky love story you can’t get enough of

Lola and Cricket in Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins! Those two are so dorky and quirky (especially Cricket lol) and their relationship was so cute! I’ve read that book so many times because I just can’t get enough of them falling in love.

Image result for daughter of smoke and bone13. Princess Monoke: A book with a great plot but brutal/bloody imagery

Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor. While the plot and setting were amazing and unique, they did center around a terribly violent war between the chimera and the Angels. In fact, before the book even begins almost an entire race of creatures had been wiped out due to this war, and this book deals a lot with the after effects of this.

14. The Cat Returns: A story with a talking animal/creature

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness! Technically Manchee the dog can’t talk, but the planet the characters live on allows everyone to hear men’s and animals thoughts. So we get to hear his thoughts which I figure is close enough, haha. Manchee was one of my favorite characters because he was so cute and sweet, and I loved how spot on his thoughts were.

I’m going to tag adeleisreading, andyswonderlandblog, and whatwrenreads

 

6 thoughts on “[Book Tag]– Studio Ghibli Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

